Just Imagine

UKLA Book Awards 2019 (Shortlist 12-16 years)

£37.76 Save £16.18

The Shortlist for the UKLA Book Awards 2019 has now been announced!

Purchase one of our packs to instantly refresh your class or library collections. 

All three age categories once again show the fresh perspective that class teachers can bring to the judging process in their search for books which can “enhance all aspects of literacy learning”, as required by the criteria. 

Sarah Crossan, who won the 12-16 category in 2018 with We Come Apart, a verse novel co-authored with Brian Conaghan, won her first UKLA Book Award in 2013 with her debut novel Weight of Water; also written in verse, as is her current book Moonrise, which now makes her the first triple winner in UKLA history. Joining her on the shortlist poetry battle are Mary’s Monster written and illustrated by Lita Judge and current Carnegie medal shortlistees Jason Reynolds with Long Way Down and Elizabeth Acevedo with The Poet X. Completing the list are two novels that could not be more different: Will Hill’s powerful After the Fire, previously shortlisted for the 2018 Carnegie medal and Clémentine Beauvais’ hilarious Piglettes written and translated from the French original by the author.

Crossnan Sarah Moonrise
Acevedo Elizabeth The Poet X
Reynolds Jason Long way down
Beauvais Clementine Piglettes
Hill Will After the fire
Judge Lita Mary's Monster : Love, Madness and How Mary Shelley Created Frankenstein